Town of Spring Lake Work Session of the Board of Aldermen Municipal Building 300 Ruth Street Spring Lake, NC 28390

<u>December 13, 2021</u>

MINUTES

6:00 p.m.

The Spring Lake Board of Aldermen held a work session meeting in the Grady Howard Conference Room of the Spring Lake Municipal Building with Mayor Larry G. Dobbins presiding.

Board Members Present:

Alderwoman Soña Cooper

Alderwoman Jackie Jackson Alderman James O'Garra

Alderwoman Fredricka Sutherland

Board Members Absent:

Mayor Pro tem Taimoor Aziz

Others Present:

Jonathan Charleston, Town Attorney Melissa Pereira, Town Clerk Banard Lemon, Audio Visual Coordinator Kia Anthony, Mayor Elect Robyn Chadwick, Mayor Pro tem Elect Marvin Lackman, Alderman Elect Raul Palacios, Alderman Elect Adrian Thompson, Alderwoman Elect Kris Schara, Senior Center Program Assistant Dysoaneik Spellman, Interim Police Chief Jason Williams, Fire Chief Kirk DeViere, Senator, Cumberland County District 19 Honorable Marvin W. Lucas, North Carolina House of Representatives Eric Nilsen, North Carolina Notary Public Sybil Sloan, Juris Doctor, North Carolina Notary Public Reverend Vernon Marsh, President of the Spring Lake Ministerial Alliance Dr. Denise Payton, Director of Choral Activities, Fayetteville State University Jared L. Payton, Founder/Director of Jared L. Payton and The Voices

1. Call to order

Mayor Dobbins declared a quorum and called the meeting to order.

2. Invocation

Reverend Vernon Marsh, President of the Spring Lake Ministerial Alliance, gave the invocation.

3. Lift Every Voice and Sing

Dr. Denise Payton, Director of Choral Activities, Fayetteville State University, sang "Lift Every Voice and Sing".

4. The National Anthem

Jared L. Payton, Founder/Director of Jared L. Payton and the Voices sang "The National Anthem".

5. Presentation to Outgoing Board Members

Mayor Dobbins recognized Mayor Pro Tem Taimoor Aziz, Alderman James O'Garra, Alderwoman Fredricka Sutherland, and Alderwoman Jackie Jackson dedication and service to the Spring Lake Community and thanked them for all they had done during the time they served as Board of Aldermen. Mayor Dobbins presented each outgoing board member an appreciation plaque.

6. Administration of Oath to the Mayor

Senator Kirk DeViere, Cumberland County District 19, administered the oath of office to Kia Anthony to serve as Mayor for the Town of Spring Lake.

7. Presentation to Mayor Kia Anthony

Mayor Dobbins handed over his keys to the mayor's office, and a new gavel set to Mayor Kia Anthony.

8. Administration of Oath to the Board of Aldermen

Honorable Marvin W. Lucas, North Carolina House of Representatives, administered the oaths of Office to Ms. Soña Cooper, Mr. Raul Palacios, and Ms. Adrian Thompson to serve as Aldermen for the Town of Spring Lake. Mr. Eric Nilsen, North Carolina Notary Public, administered the oath of office to Mr. Marvin Lackman to serve as Aldermen for the Town of Spring Lake. Ms. Sybil Sloan, Juris Doctor, North Carolina Notary Public, administered the oath of office to Robyn Chadwick to serve as Aldermen for the Town of Spring Lake.

9. Election of Mayor Pro Tempore

Mayor Anthony declared Alderwoman Robyn Chadwick as the Mayor Pro Tempore for the Town of Spring Lake.

Action: A motion to nominate Robyn Chadwick as the Mayor Pro Tempore for the Town of Spring Lake.

Motion by: Alderman Lackman Second by: Alderwoman Thompson

Vote: unanimous

10. Administration of Oath to the Mayor Pro Tempore

Mayor Anthony declared Alderwoman Robyn Chadwick as the Mayor Pro Tempore and administered the oath of office to serve as Mayor Pro Tempore for the Town of Spring Lake.

11. Remarks

Mayor Anthony offered each Board Member an opportunity to give remarks.

12. New Business

a. Board to Determine Meeting Schedule for December 27, 2021, Regular Meeting

Ms. Melissa Pereira requested the approval of cancelling the December 27, 2021, Regular Meeting.

Action: Approval to cancel the December 27, 2021, Regular Meeting.

Motion by: Alderman Palacios

Second by: Alderwoman Thompson

Vote: unanimous

13. Adjournment.

Action: There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:09 p.m.

Motion: Alderman Palacios Second by: Alderman Lackman

Vote: Unanimous

Kia Anthony

Melissa Pereira, CMC

Town Clerk